Learn astrology basics, jyotish shastra (part2)

Type of signification planet has: natural and functional

Natural nature of planet is its actual nature it owns. But functional nature is nature planet gets from the ownership of certain house of horoscope.

Ex: House for wealth in horoscope is 2nd house. Karka (significator) planet for 2nd house is Jupiter hence its natural significator for wealth. But in this below horoscope 2nd house has cancer sign in it which is owned by moon, therefore 2nd house lord is Moon hence it is the functional significator for wealth in this horoscope. Here Jupiter is natural and moon is functional significator of wealth.

Natural Significator is always same for all horoscope but functional significator changes for every horoscope according to lordship over houses, which is given in this article for every lagna (ascandent).

Nature of planet if it is evil or good: Natural Benefic or Malefic AND Functional benefic or malefic

Other than natural and functional signification planet can be naturally and functionally benefic or malefic.

Jupiter Venus and Mercury are natural benefic planets (shubhgrah).

Mars, Saturn, Rahu, Ketu are natural malefic in nature (paapgrah).

Sun is not malefic but cruel in nature.

Wanning Moon is benefic and Waxing moon is malefic in nature.

Funtional nature of planet is nature itgot due to ownership of houses in horoscope.

Lord of 1st, 4th,5th, 7th, 9th and 10th (quadrant and trines) house are always benefic in nature. Even when natural malefic like saturn owns trine house it becomes functional benefic.

Planet’s relationship


Planets have their aspects known as drishti. Planet give the result of the house where it aspects, sages have said aspects or drishti results must be analyzed as if planet is sitting there.

Saturn have 3rd and 10th aspect or drishti from where it is positioned. It means it will give the result of the 3rd and 10th house from its position in horoscope.

Example: Here saturn is in 6th house, therefore it will give the result of 6th house but it will also give the result of 8th and 3rd house. As count 3 and 10 from 6th house you will get 8th and 3rd house of horoscope.

Every planet has 7th aspect from it, but some have special aspects

Sun                        7th

Moon                    7th

Mercury               7th

Venus                   7th

Mars                      4th, 7th and 8th

Jupiter                  5th, 7th and 9th

Saturn                   3rd, 7th and 10th

Functional Benefics and Malefics for each Lagna (Ascendant):

Aries (Mesha)—Jupiter, the Sun and Mars are benefics. Jupiter is the best benefic. The next benefic is Mars. Saturn, Mercury and Venus are malefics. Mercury being the greatest malefic as lord of the 3rd and 6th.

Vrishabha (Taurus).—The best benefic is Saturn as he owns the 9th and 10th. Mercury, Mars and the Sun are also benefics. Jupiter, Venus and the Moon are evil planets but Venus may be declared a neutral as he is lord of Lagna or ascendant.

Mithuna (Gemini).—Venus alone is the most beneficial planet for this Lagna. The most malefic is Mars as he is lord of the 6th and the 11th. Jupiter and the Sun are also evil. The Moon and Mercury may be classified as neutrals.

Kataka (Cancer).—Jupiter and Mars are benefics, the better being Mars as he is lord of the 5th and 10th. Venus and Mercury are evil and Saturn, the Moon and the Sun are neutrals.

Simha (Leo) — Mars and the Sun are benefics, the former being the most auspicious. Mercury and Venus are malefics. Jupiter, the Moon and Saturn are neutrals.

Kanya (Virgo).—Venus is alone the best benefic. Moon, Mars and Jupiter are evil or malefics. Saturn, the Sun and Mercury are neutrals.

Thula (Libra). — Saturn, Mercury and Venus are benefics, Saturn being the best. The Sun, Jupiter and the Moon are malefics. Mars may be taken as a feeble benefic.

Vrischika (Scorpio).—The Moon is the best benefic and Jupiter and the Sun are also benefics. Mercury and Venus are evil. Mars and Saturn are neutrals.

Dhanus (Sagittarius)—Mars and the Sun are benefics. Venus, Saturn and Mercury are evil and Jupiter and the Moon are neutrals.

Makara (Capricorn).—Venus is the most powerful benefic. Mercury and Saturn are also benefics. Mars, Jupiter and the Moon are evil, the worst being Mars. Though the Sun is the 8th lord, he becomes a neutral.

Kumbha (Aquarius).—Venus is the benefic. The Sun and Mars are also benefics. Jupiter and the Moon are malefics and Mercury is a neutral.

Meena (Pisces).—The Moon and Mars are benefics. Saturn, the Sun, Venus and Mercury are malefics. Jupiter is of course a neutral.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *